2010 Produce Research Symposium

2010 Produce Research Symposium

The inaugural Produce Research Symposium was held on June 23, 2010 at the University of California, Davis. The Symposium attracted 300 attendees from the private produce and food safety communities, including growers, packers, processors and commodity groups, retailers and restaurant operators, as well as representatives from government and academia.

The June 23 symposium was sponsored by:platinum sponsor Produce Marketing Association (PMA); gold sponsor iGPS and Taylor Farms; and silver sponsors Castellini Group of Companies, Chiquita Brands International/Fresh Express, C.H. Robinson Worldwide Inc., Ecolab, Florida Agricultural Experiment Stateion at the University of Florida-IFAS, Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association, The Giumarra Companies, Microsoft Dynamics and UC Davis College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

More than 300 in attendance

CPS Executive Director Bonnie Fernandez Fenaroli

Max Teplitski with Michelle Danyluk; University of Florida

Nate Dechoretz, Deputy Secretary for Admin.and Finance for CDFA with Ed Beckman, California Fresh Tomato Growers

The Symposium also showcased posters of projects to be presented in 2011.

Paul Fleming, Maritori Farms with Joe Pezzini, Ocean Mist

The breaks given between sessions allowed for interaction amongst government, industry and universities in the lobby of the Robert Mondavi Center.

Technical Committee Chairman Bob Whitaker of PMA served as the moderator.

Advisory Board member Bill Pool of Wegmans and Advisory Board and Technical Committee member Hank Giclas of Western Growers.

Advisory Board members Mark Roh of FDA-Pacific Region and Rob Atwill of Western Institute for Food Safety and Security.

The format of the symposium allowed for questions from the audience after presentations were given.

CPS Advisory Board member Bryan Silbermann of PMA was the moderator for the Food Industry/Government Discussion.

Ana Hooper of Darden listens to scientist Astri Wayadande of Oklahoma State University after her presentation.

Ana Hooper, Darden

Xiuping Jiang, Clemson University

Session III Panel "Potential vectors for pathogen transfer during field production."

Mary Ellen Burris of Wegmans and Advisory Board Member Alec Leach of Taylor Farms.

Session IV Panel " Food Industry and Government Discussion"

Ann Wright, Deputy Under Secretary of USDA and Advisory Board and Technical Committee Member James Gorny of FDA-CFSAN.

Tim York, Markon Cooperative and CPS Advisory Board Chairman

The symposium reception was held in the courtyard and gardens of the Robert Mondavi Institute for Wine and Food Science.

Advisory Board and Technical Committee Member James Gorny of FDA-CFSAN and Technical Committee Member Will Daniels of Earthbound Farms.

Martha Roberts, University of Florida and Christine Bruhn, University of California Davis.

Kali Kniel, University of Delaware; Bryan Silbermann and Bob Whitaker both of Produce Marketing Association.